Welcome Guest ( Login | Register )



All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: "Bug" with linear meter
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 1:25 am 

Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 5:16 am
Posts: 3

Offline
Hi
There is a "bug" with "built in" meter. If the minimum is less than 0 it starts rading from the minimum value. For example max:100, Min: -100 and tag value is 50. The indicator color will show from -100 -> 50.
Just upgraded to IX 2.20 and the same problem is there.

Regards Daniel N


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: "Bug" with linear meter
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2015 10:53 am 

Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 2:10 pm
Posts: 98

Offline
The linear meter is designed to fill from minimum to value (with value in the range minimum to maximum). If you want to make the meter split at 0, you can overlay a second meter from -100 to 0 set as transparent with no scale. Set this second meter as ranged -100 to 0 with the background and indicator colors swapped.

_________________
Adam M.
Controls Engineer
FlexEnergy


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: "Bug" with linear meter
PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2015 2:22 am 

Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 5:16 am
Posts: 3

Offline
Ok. Yeah, thats exactly what I did to solve the problem :)
But I can't think of any Application this can be practical. If I want to show -50 the bar graph shows from -100 -> -50......?
0 should be the start point of the graph.

Its either a bug or bad and unpractical design.

Daniel N


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: "Bug" with linear meter
PostPosted: Sun Nov 01, 2015 1:00 pm 

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 6:13 am
Posts: 25

Offline
Did you use Adam's trick of reversing the colours on the negative bar?

Negative bar - black on green background. -100 to 0.
==========|==========

Positive bar - green on black background. 0 to +100.
==========|==========

Both bars have the minimum value on the left.


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: "Bug" with linear meter
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2015 12:38 am 

Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 5:16 am
Posts: 3

Offline
In fact I used one linear meter just to show the scale. On the upper part I uses a linear meter to show the 0->100. To show the 0-> -100 i used a rectangle (and connected the tag to the "size" under animations). This Works fine for me :D


 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: