Welcome Guest ( Login | Register )



All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Passthru/Passthrough communications to PLC via T10A
PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2013 5:32 pm 

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:04 pm
Posts: 25

Offline
I was just wondering if this is possible. If so, I could use some direction in setting this up.

I use T7A/T10A screens with Panasonic PLC's. The PLC connects to the HMI via RS-232 through the COM1 port, typically at around 38,400 baud, but I'm flexible.

I use an ethernet cable for programming the TxA. Currently, it is just a peer-to-peer connection with my laptop, but I have also been successful at connecting through a hub/switch.

Is it possible to use the ethernet connection as a bridge for my RS-232 communications? What I would like to be able to do is transfer PLC programs using the HMI as a passthrough conduit. I've been able to do this with Panasonic HMI's, but those have all talked to the laptop via RS-232.

If this is not possible using ethernet, would it be possible if I connected to the HMI via COM1 or COM3?


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Passthru/Passthrough communications to PLC via T10A
PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:12 am 

Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 9:53 am
Posts: 824

Offline
It depends on your driver. I am not sure what driver you are using. If you go to the driver's setting and you see a pass through mode, then you should be able to do it. Here is a screen shot of the QnA/Qnn Serial driver which allows pass through. If you click on the help button, it you should be able to find out how the pass through mode works for that driver.

Attachment:
Snap 2013-09-17 at 09.05.22.jpg
Snap 2013-09-17 at 09.05.22.jpg [ 49.22 KiB | Viewed 2888 times ]

_________________
Best Regards,
Mark Monroe

Beijer Electronics, Inc. | Applications Engineer


 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Passthru/Passthrough communications to PLC via T10A
PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 10:54 am 

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:04 pm
Posts: 25

Offline
Thanks Mark.

I will give this a try.

FWIW, I am using the Matsushita/MEWTOCOL driver.


 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron